AASHTO announced Carlos Braceras P.E. and Patrick McKenna, have been elected President and Vice President.  Braceras is Executive Director of the Utah DOT; McKenna is Director of the Missouri DOT.

Braceras previously served as AASHTO’s VP and secretary-treasurer. As president he will focus on three emphasis areas: workforce development, reauthorization of current surface transportation legislation to include funding and policy reform, all while “communicating transportation’s vital role” in American life, AASHTO says.

Braceras began his career at UDOT in 1986, becoming UDOT’s Executive Director in 2013.  He is responsible for more than 1,600 employees along with the design, construction and maintenance of Utah’s 6,000-mile highway & roadway system, as well as transit projects. He previously served as the agency’s Deputy Director and Chief Engineer.

McKenna has served as Missouri DOT Director since December 2015. He previously was Deputy Commissioner for the New Hampshire DOT.  He also serves as 2017/18 President of MAASTO (one of four AASHTO regional organizations).  He also is a member of the TRB executive committee.