The Arkansas Highway Commission has named Lorie Harris Tudor, P.E. as Director of the Arkansas Department of Transportation (ARDOT). Tudor will succeed Scott Bennett, who announced he will retire on March 20, according to an ARDOT press release. 

Tudor began her 36-year career with what was then the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department in 1981 as a clerk typist. She left the Department in 1995 to return to college, where she received a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Memphis.

She returned in 1998 as a Civil Engineer I in the Planning Branch. She held various titles in Planning, Research, and Program Management, becoming Assistant Chief Engineer for Planning in 2011. In December 2014, she was named Deputy Director and Chief Operating Officer. 

Tudor becomes ARDOT’s first female Director, and the fifth person to serve in that role in the Department’s last 47 years. Previous ARDOT Directors are Henry Gray (15 years), Maurice Smith (6 years), Dan Flowers (17 years) and Scott Bennett (9 years).