“….And the winner is….” Don’t you love that moment at award shows? The anticipation of who takes home the top prize is just what we tune in for with satisfaction only coming after each announcement. It’s even more gratifying when the individual, team or project that was our pick receives the top honor. ACPA’s annual Excellence in Concrete Pavement Awards is the industry’s Oscars as from coast to coast, our judges have selected the best of the best from an impressive list of submissions. Well, wait no further, our list of award winners for 2023 is here, with one caveat, Gold and Silver winners, as well as best-in-show honors for innovation and sustainability will be announced on location at our 60th Annual Excellence in Concrete Paving Awards banquet and gala during ACPA’s Annual Meeting December 12 – 14, in Marco Island, FL – register TODAY. The room block is filling up quickly and to get the discounted rate, you must be within the block.

Without further ado, this year’s project winners are:

  • Commercial Services Airports:
    • RUNWAY 13R‐31L & TAXIWAY C PHASE 1 RECONSTRUCTION; Dallas, Texas – Flatiron Construction Corporation / City of Dallas / HNTB
    • Rehabilitate Runway 1L‐19R Phase 2; Kansas City, Missouri – Ideker, Inc. / Kansas City Aviation Department / HNTB
  • Concrete Pavement Restoration (Highways and Airfields):
    • SP 4208‐60 TH 59 CPR; Garvin, Minnesota – Interstate Improvements / Minnesota Department of Transportation / Minnesota Department of Transportation
    • Raleigh‐Durham International Airport Runway 5L/23R and Taxiway B Preservation; Raleigh, North Carolina – Zachry Construction Corp. / Parsons / Jacobs
  • Concrete Pavement Restoration (Streets and Local Roads):
    • 2022 Annual Landside Pavement Rehabilitation; Denver, Colorado – IHC Scott / City & County of Denver‐ Department of Aviation / DEN Landside Engineering
    • Concrete Pavement Rehabilitation, East 56th Street; Indianapolis, Indiana – Milestone Contractors LP / Indianapolis DPW / First Group Engineering, Inc.
  • County Roads:
    • Meade County Road 2 Reconstruction; Meade County, Kansas – Koss Construction Company / Meade County / Kirkham, Michael & Associates, Inc.
    • Bass Rd. Construction, Phases 2 and 3; Allen County, Indiana – Milestone Contractors LP / Allen County Highway Department / American Structurepoint
  • Divided Highways (Rural)
    • I‐40 Vian; Sequoyah County, Oklahoma – Duit Construction Co., Inc. / Oklahoma Department of Transportation / Oklahoma Department of Transportation
    • I‐80 East Bound, Rock Spring ‐ Rawlins; Rock Springs, Wyoming – IHC Scott Wyoming /Department of Transportation / WYDOT District 3 ‐ Rock Springs
  • Divided Highways (Urban)
    • I‐44 Pavement Replacement at 744/Mulroy Road; Springfield, Missouri – Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc. / Missouri Department of Transportation / Missouri Department of Transportation
    • Gilcrease Expressway; Tulsa, Oklahoma – Gilcrease Constructors ‐ Duit Const. Co., Inc. / Oklahoma Turnpike Authority / Garver Engineering
  • Industrial Paving:
    • Old Dominion Freight Line; Bonner Springs, Kansas – Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc. / D.F. Chase / Hoyt+Berenyi
  • Military Airports:
    • Cannon Air Force Base Reconstruct Taxiway Mike and Taxiway Delta; Clovis, New Mexico – Southwest Concrete Paving Company (SWCP) / 27th Special Operations Wing / Blair Remy Architects
  • Municipal Streets & Intersections (<30,000 SY):
    • West 7th and 8th Avenue Concrete Reconstruction; West Homestead, Pennsylvania – Golden Triangle Construction / Pennsylvania Department of Transportation / Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
    • USH 63, Spooner ‐ Hayward (Greenwood Ave. to Poplar St.); Washburn County, Wisconsin – Trierweiler Companies / Wisconsin Department of Transportation / Northern Wisconsin Based Engineers (NWBE), Inc.
  • Municipal Streets & Intersections (> 30,000 SY):
    • Scott County MN CSAH 83; Scott, Minnesota – Shafer Contracting Company, Inc. / Scott County / Kimley‐Horn
    • Hennepin Ave Downtown Reconstruction; Minneapolis, Minnesota – Ti‐Zack Concrete, Inc. / City of Minneapolis / Kimley‐Horn
  • Overlays (Highways):
    • Cherokee County‐ Iowa 31 Washta; Cherokee, Iowa – Cedar Valley Corp. / Iowa Department of Transportation
    • IA Hwy 3 Accelerated PCC Overlay SP# NHSN‐003‐1(106) ‐‐2R‐75; Plymouth Co, Iowa – Croell, Inc. / Iowa Department of Transportation
  • Overlays (Streets and Roads):
    • Cannelburg Road Phases 4 & 5; Daviess County, Indiana – Milestone Contractors LP / Daviess County / Milestone Contractors LP
    • Intersection Improvements: Adams Ctr. and Tillman Rd.; Allen County, Indiana – Milestone Contractors LP / Allen County Highway Department / Allen County Highway Department
  • RCC (Industrial – Commercial):
    • C&C Empty Container Yard at Bayport Terminal; Seabrook, Texas – A.G. Peltz Group, LLC / Nigel Nixon and Partners, Inc. / Jacobs Engineering
    • Spokane International Airport Rail‐Truck Transload Facility; Spokane, Washington – Peltz Companies, Inc. / Spokane International Airport / KPFF
  • RCC (Roadways and Airfields):
    • RCC for Red Mountain Expressway; Birmingham, Alabama – A.G. Peltz Group, LLC / Alabama Department of Transportation / Alabama Department of Transportation
  • Reliever & General Aviation Airports:
    • Ellsworth Municipal Airport Runway Reconstruction; Ellsworth, Kansas – Koss Construction Company / City of Ellsworth / Benesch
    • ATW Runway & GA Taxiway Rehabilitation; Appleton International Airport, Wisconsin – Vinton Construction Company / Wisconsin DOT Bureau of Aeronautics / Westwood
  • State Roads:
    • SH‐287 Eads Passing Lanes; Kiowa County, Colorado – Castle Rock Construction Company / Colorado Department of Transportation ‐ Region 2 / CDOT Region 2 ‐ Lamar Residency
    • US169; Neosho/Allen Counties, Kansas – Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc. / Kansas Department of Transportation / GBA
  • Urban Arterials & Collectors:
    • Castle Pines Parkway Reconstruction; Castle Pines, Colorado – Villalobos Concrete Company / City of Castle Pines / Ulteig
    • West Layton Avenue/CTH Y City of Greenfield; Milwaukee County, Wisconsin –

Vinton Construction Company / Milwaukee County Department of Transportation / Milwaukee County Department of Transportation

Stay tuned for an announcement on other award winners to be celebrated at the Annual Meeting including the Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award, Marlin J. Knutson Award for Technical Achievement, and the Outstanding Pavement Promotion Award.

The program for the Annual Meeting sessions is full of quality content and networking opportunities. A few highlights of this year’s programming include a panel of state DOT officials, remarks from AASHTO’s Executive Director Jim Tymon, and industry market forums for members to discuss current issues.

Also, don’t forget to register for the Airport Workshop, information provided below. In the next coming editions of ACPA Today we will also announce updates on grant information to incentivize low-carbon concrete in demonstration projects and discount codes for 2024 World of Concrete.

Have a great Fall, ACPA members, after a hard-working summer, you’ve earned it!