Several sources, including AASHTO, reported this week that the Biden Administration has named officials to be nominated or appointed to key DOT positions.

As reported in ACPA Today last month, then President-elect Biden nominated Pete Buttigieg to the position of US DOT Secretary. Buttigieg was a 2020 presidential hopeful and former mayor of South Bend, IN. The Senate Commerce Committee today voted to approve his nomination, and advanced his nomination to the Senate floor for a possible vote later this week. The administration has also nominated Polly Trottenberg to be Deputy Secretary at USDOT.

The US DOT announced that Lana Hurdle, currently the agency’s Deputy Assistant Secretary for Budget and Programs, will serve as the Acting Secretary of Transportation until Secretary-designee Buttigieg is confirmed.

Other nominees include Stephanie Pollack, currently secretary and CEO of the Massachusetts DOT, as Deputy Administrator of the Federal Highway Administration, and Brad Mims, currently President of the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials, as Deputy Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration.

Click here to see the full list of nominees and appointees.

Photo courtesy of AASHTO.

Follow this link to see ACPA’s government affairs repository.