U.S. House Democratic Leaders yesterday released the text of The Moving Forward Act, a Transformational Infrastructure Bill to Create Jobs and Rebuild America (H.R. 2).

The announcement came after a 24-hour, two-day markup process for The INVEST in America Act, which effectively became a provision of The Moving Forward Act, according to AHUA.  For more information, click here to see our coverage of The INVEST in America act.

The structure of the bill remains intact, AHUA says. It is a five-year authorization, and includes increases in funding faster than the rate of inflation; however, the rates of increase for transit and rail programs are faster than for the highway program.

The Moving Forward Act will invest in our nation’s infrastructure, including roads, bridges, transit, rail, schools, housing, broadband, drinking and wastewater systems, postal service, clean energy sector, health care infrastructure, and more.

The more than $1.5 trillion proposal is aimed at rebuilding U.S. communities with infrastructure and innovation that is smarter, safer, and made to last. Of particular interest to the concrete pavement industry are the following provisions:

  • (Inclusion of) The INVEST in America Act, a nearly $500 billion investment to rebuild and reimagine the nation’s transportation infrastructure. ACPA’s summary of the INVEST in America Act can be found here.
  • Promotion of investments in our communities by spurring private investment through the tax code, through a revitalized Build America Bonds program, expansions of Private Activity Bonds, and significant enhancements to the New Markets Tax Credit and the Rehabilitation Tax Credit.

In a press release issued yesterday, the House Democrats say the Act “marks a transformational investment in American infrastructure that will create millions of jobs, take bold action on the climate crisis, and address disparities in urban, suburban, and rural communities across our country.”

Joining T&I Committee Chair Peter DeFazio (D-OR) were other Leaders, including Education and Labor Committee Chair Robert Scott (D-VA); Financial Services Committee Chair Maxine Waters (D-CA): Energy and Commerce Committee Chair Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ): Ways and Means Committee Chair Richard E. Neal (D-MA); Oversight and Reform Committee Chair Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY); and Natural Resources Committee Chair Raúl Grijalva.  To read more about the act, click here to download a fact sheet.


Follow this link to see ACPA’s government affairs repository.