ACPA’s 59th Annual Meeting in Nashville, TN was a tremendous success thanks to the dedication of our engaged members and our hardworking staff. Over 400 attendees gathered at the Omni Hotel to network; attend our highway, aviation, streets, and industrial forums; as well our Concrete Pavement University Sessions.

Portland Cement Association economist Ed Sullivan kicked off Wednesday’s opening session with a bang providing his forecasts for FY23 and beyond. While Ed doesn’t have a crystal ball, his insights on supply, and aggregating factors like a potential rail strike, commanded the attention of a packed breakfast audience. Ed was a fantastic keynote speaker, and we hope to have him back again. Ed’s presentation can be found here.

ACPA also unveiled its White Paper on Sustainability, which outlines the concrete paving industry’s position on sustainability and resiliency. The document, which can be accessed here, was authored by ACPA’s Senior Director of Technical Services Eric Ferrebee and CEMEX’s Jim Mack, with the assistance of Kimberly Kayler of AOE and ACPA’s Director of Membership Anna McMullen. ACPA will release updated versions of the White Paper as the sustainability conversation evolves but look for the discussion to continue at World of Concrete.

Speaking of World of Concrete, don’t forget to register using ACPA’s code A14 here. Registering with our code not only saves you $65, but proceeds go back into supporting ACPA programs like technical services, advocacy, marketing and promotion and much more. See you in Vegas!

The membership of ACPA also voted on its new Board of Directors, including the Chairmen of the Board through 2026. Starting in 2023, the Chairman gavel passes to Steve Friess (Milestone), 2024 Ernie Peterson (Ash Grove), 2025 Don Weaver (Weaver-Bailey), and finally 2026 Patrick Clearly (Holcim), with Ed Griffith assuming the position as Immediate Past Chair. See the story below for a full announcement on new Board Members.

Lastly, our Annual Meeting wouldn’t be complete with our Excellence in Concrete Pavement Awards Gala. The Gala featured awards for 26 projects all over the country, with the Reconstruction of Runway 2R/20L Taxiway Hotel & Connectors at Nashville International Airport and the US 69 Southbound Reconstruction project in Atoka/Bryan County, Oklahoma earning top honors as best in show for innovation and best in show for sustainable practices. Cedar Valley’s Steve Jackson was honored among his peers with the Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan award and Jim Mack of CEMEX received the Presidential award for distinguished advocacy efforts.

This will be our final newsletter until after the first of the year. Below find stories on a few upcoming events and announcements – we will see you in the new year!

Cheers and Happy Holidays!